Reds v Hawick Linden (Oct 15)

Reds Score Eight Tries Against Hawick Linden

Linlithgow  52 – 0  Hawick Linden

Saturday 31 October 2015


Mikey Walker goes over for the opening try

Last Saturday, Linlithgow RFC welcomed Hawick Linden to Mains Park in a rearranged BT East 1 league match. The kick off was early to allow everyone to watch the Rugby World Cup Final. Linlithgow fielded veteran prop Nick Chadwick for his first game in some years and the sun split the sky as kick off approached. You could be forgive for thinking it was still August!

From the start, Linlithgow were on the offensive and it wasn’t long before the initial pressure paid off with Mikey Walker darting over from close to the line, the conversion going wide.  Linlithgow scored a second soon after as Stuart Bell powered through, the conversion from Jack Frame was good.  A third try soon followed as veteran prop John Pauley gathered the ball one metre out and powered over the line, Jack Frame again adding the extra points. Linden were struggling to get the ball out of their own half and, in a rare attack they were awarded a penalty which went wide. Just before half time Mikey Walker scored his second, again converted by Jack Frame. HT 26-0


Mikey’s hat-trick try!

The second half was more of the same. Linden were unable to stop the waves of attacks from Linlithgow as Ross Martin and Craig Scott scored converted tries. Then Mikey Walker scored his hat trick in the corner, the conversion just missing. The final score was from Jack Frame who ran in from 30 metres out after good work from Mark Green. Jack then converted his own try.  With Hawick Linden now down to 14 players and visibly tiring, the referee brought the game to an early conclusion.


Jack Frame makes a searing break to score the final try

This win consolidates 3rd place in the league for the Reds with a tricky visit to North Berwick coming up.


Jack Frame; Garry Anderson, Euan Richardson, Mark Green, Scott Watson; Jamie Livingstone and Mikey Walker; Calum McKeown, Stuart Cunningham and John Pauley; Charlie Gillanders and Stuart Jamieson; Craig Scott, Stuart Bell (capt)  and Ross Martin.

Subs: Nick Chadwick, Euan Mochrie, Fraser Rankine and Dougie Thompson