Reds at Grangemouth (Aug 14)

Reds Continue Pre-Season with Trip to Grangemouth

Grangemouth  0 – 17  Linlithgow

Tuesday 12 August 2014


Ross Martin Takes the Easy Route!!

Linlithgow Rugby Club followed up their victory at Strathmore with another win at Grangemouth on Tuesday. Over 20 players made the short trip through and everyone contributed to a fine 17-0 win over three 20 minute sessions.

Ross Martin Takes the Easy Route!

Linlithgow kicked off the first session and thought they had immediately scored a try through Billy Edment, after a great positional kick by Dixon, then good work by the forwards, however the referee was unsighted and awarded a scrum 5. All the early play was inside the home side’s 22, but gradually the play moved to midfield where neither team were able to dominate. The referee sent one of the home players to the bin just before the whistle, but Linlithgow allowed a sub to be brought on. 0-0.

The second session saw a number of substitutions, and started off the same as the first one ended, with both teams stuck in midfield. There were plenty of infringements but neither team were able to capitalise on the other’s mistakes. It was Linlithgow who broke the stalemate. The first time the ball broke to Ross Plenderleith in his own half he ran a full 40 metres before a nice offload let Scott Watson in for a try, the conversion was missed.

Score at end of second period:  Grangemouth 0 – 5 Linlithgow


Ally Wood Scores a Try

The final session began with a yellow card for Stuart Bell.  Linlithgow were improving and, after more good work in the scrum, Jamieson was able to offload to Ally Wood who burst through the defence for a try, which was unconverted. The icing on the cake came towards the end when Plenderleith was in full flight homing in on the try line. The defender took him out above shoulder height and the referee awarded a penalty try which was converted. Linlithgow will be concerned however about the injury to prop Euan Gunn at the end. Final score 17-0


Euan Murray, Ty Watson, Chris Bredin, Ross Plenderleith, Matt Dixon, Andrew Wood, Scott Watson, Garry Anderson, Andy McGowan, Neil Dori-Muir, Ronnie Coventry, Steven Sim, Mike Walker, Chris Archer, Stuart Cunningham (C), Euan Gunn, Billy Edment, Alistair Wood, Keir Waddell, Stuart Jamieson, Euan Richardson, Stuart Bell, Ross Martin, Tom Townend, Stuart Young.

Match photos courtesy of Graham Black