AGM 2021

Linlithgow Rugby Club AGM 2021

Thursday 29 July 2021 at 7pm in the Clubhouse

This page has been created to give Members the opportunity to view key information in advance of the AGM.

Report on Club Annual General Meeting

The 4th AGM of Linlithgow Rugby Club Ltd was held on Thursday night in the Clubhouse. Big thanks for those who attended – we were easily quorate and able to do the business.

Reports were given by Ken Richardson (general report on past year), David Mitchell (rugby report), Gordon Muir (report on youth rugby) and Jean McKeown (annual accounts and explanation of accountancy changes to meet accounting standards for charities set by OSCR).

David Mitchell gives his report to the AGM

Ken Richardson started with an assurance to Club Members that the Board had been fully active in seeking to protect the Club, its people and its assets through the exceptional circumstances of the last year. Prudent use of furlough and appropriate and successful application for grant funding support had left the Club in a stronger financial position than at the start of the pandemic. In addition, the opportunity had been taken to carry out improvement work across a wide range of areas, such as the refurbishment of the main shower room.

He thanked people for keeping their membership going and the volunteers, in particular fellow Board Members, the Return to Rugby group and the many Youth Coaches for all their hard work over the year in difficult circumstances.

The Club plans to thank its members at an Open Day for the whole Club on Sunday 29 August – more about this shortly.

Ken Richardson thanked the two Directors who were standing down – David Mitchell and Robin Stevenson. The other existing Directors, all standing for re-election, were unanimously voted back in:

Ken Richardson (President / Chair),
Jean McKeown (Director of Finance),
Colin Watson (Director of Clubhouse Operations),
John Smith (Director of Bar Operations),
Gordon Muir (non Exec, previously co-opted by the Board).

In addition, the following two people were unanimously voted on to the Board as Trustees (non-Exec Directors):

Rob Wakefield,
Ally McLean.

There were no nominations for either the position of Director of Rugby or Secretary to the Board. The incoming Board will seek to address these vacancies as a matter of priority.

During his earlier report, Ken Richardson indicated that the Board were not seeking to appoint a Director of Youth Rugby, as the existing ‘Return to Rugby’ group, which has successfully met regularly over the last 16 months, would continue as a Youth Rugby Coordination group.

The annual accounts were approved and thanks accorded to both Jean McKeown and to Cornerstone Accounting for the work carried out to restructure the Club’s financial reporting to meet OSCR’s requirements for charities.

Minutes of Previous Year’s AGM

Last year’s AGM was held on Friday 24 July 2020. You can view the dedicated webpage for the AGM, which includes the Minutes of the meeting:

Link to 2020 AGM webpage

Notice of the Meeting

Meeting Agenda

Directors’ Report and Financial Statements

Here is the full report that was approved at the AGM and will be made to OSCR, the charity regulator in Scotland: